Five Photos, Five Stories #2

I’ve been invited to take part in the “Five Photos, Five Stories” challenge by Claire of Claire93. The challenge is quite simply to “post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or a short paragraph and each day nominate another blogger for the challenge”.

Here’s today’s photo:wpid-scrollbwm_1_wm.jpg.jpegWhat you might not know about me is that I studied music for my degree and played the viola. Music was my entire life from about the age of eleven right through to when I finished at college. I was never good enough to be a performer nor did I ever want to be – the thought of standing up on a stage to perform was far too frightening. However I enjoyed playing in small or larger groups but my real love was orchestral music. There’s nothing like the feeling of being in the middle of a really good symphony with the sounds and vibrations of music going on all around. It gives you a real good adrenaline kick!

I continued playing up until my children were born when inevitably, ones priorities and available time changes. If you don’t get the gigs, you don’t do the practice and if you don’t do the practice you don’t get the gigs…..!! Over the intervening years I put my energies into supporting my children with their own music making and have never really missed the playing side. The only time I get a twinge of regret for not keeping my playing going is when I go to a really good orchestral concert, particularly if the orchestra are playing something I played when I was younger. Now though, too many years have passed and I have other interests instead. The photo above is a close up of the scroll of my viola, which I still keep, and although I’ve posted this photo before I do so love the patterns in the wood and the close up of the pegs!

I’d like to nominate Jo at Restless Jo today to see if she would be interested in playing along with the challenge. Jo has a wonderful travel/photo blog and has a lovely “Monday Walk” where she describes a walk she has been on and other bloggers join with her to show their own walks. Of course there’s absolutely no requirement to play along but I hope she will. Either way her blog is well worth a visit.

 

8 thoughts on “Five Photos, Five Stories #2

  1. Many thanks for the kind words, Alison 🙂 I’ve seen this challenge around and when my life settles down again I’d rather like to have a go at it. I love your photo! Funny how life changes as we roll through it, and something that was once an indispensable part of your life gets left behind. Nice memories though, and the pleasure of music will always be with you.

  2. Pingback: 5 photos, 5 stories | restlessjo

  3. Pingback: 5 photos, 5 stories- Day 2 | restlessjo

  4. Pingback: 5 photos, 5 stories- Day 3 | restlessjo

  5. Pingback: Six word Saturday | restlessjo

  6. Pingback: 5 photos, 5 stories- Day 5 | restlessjo

It's always great to get comments - why not leave one of your own here...

